Sue Hen, Lisa Leslie, Breanna Stewart headline WNBA All-Time high 25


NEW YORK (AP) — The WNBA honored its previous and current when it introduced the league’s high 25 gamers Sunday.

The “W25” has 10 present gamers, together with Sue Hen, Diana Taurasi, Sylvia Fowles, Candace Parker and Breanna Stewart. Former stars Lisa Leslie, Tamika Catchings, Katie Smith and Sheryl Swoopes are amongst 15 retired gamers chosen by a panel of media members and girls’s basketball pioneers and advocates.

It’s the fourth time that the league, in its twenty fifth season, has produced an inventory of its high gamers. Hen, Catchings, Cynthia Cooper, Yolanda Griffith, Lauren Jackson, Leslie, Smith, Swoopes and Tina Thompson additionally had been acknowledged on every of the earlier anniversary lists.

“It’s an enormous honor to be named among the many high 25 gamers in league historical past and I’m in awe that I’m part of such a prestigious checklist,” Hen stated. “It’s been unbelievable to expertise the rise within the stage of competitors previously 25 years and I’m excited to see what the longer term holds for this league.”

To be thought of for the group, gamers will need to have performed at the very least two seasons and met 4 of seven standards: gained a serious particular person award; chosen to both the All-WNBA First Staff or All-WNBA Second Staff; chosen to both the WNBA All-Defensive First Staff or WNBA All-Defensive Second Staff; chosen to the WNBA All-Star Recreation; a member of a WNBA championship crew; at the moment ranked among the many high 40 profession leaders in at the very least one main statistical class; and/or a recipient of the WNBA’s season-long Group Help Award.

“All through this season, the WNBA and our followers are celebrating the affect the WNBA has made on sports activities and society over 1 / 4 of a century,” WNBA Commissioner Cathy Engelbert stated. “I can consider no higher option to honor these answerable for that affect than by unveiling the members of this prestigious group, The W25.”

Followers will be capable to vote for his or her selection as the best of all-time. The followers’ choose will likely be revealed in the course of the WNBA Finals.


The W25

Seimone Augustus, Sue Hen, Swin Money, Tamika Catchings, Tina Charles, Cynthia Cooper, Elena Delle Donne, Sylvia Fowles, Yolanda Griffith, Brittney Griner, Becky Hammon, Lauren Jackson, Lisa Leslie, Angel McCoughtry Maya Moore, Nneka Ogwumike, Candace Parker, Tichia Penicheiro, Cappie Pondexter, Katie Smith, Breanna Stewart, Sheryl Swoopes, Diana Taurasi, Tina Thompson, Lindsay Whalen.

Sue Hen, Lisa Leslie, Breanna Stewart headline WNBA All-Time high 25 initially appeared on

Orignal Article From Orignal Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.